The MICATA 2018 Annual Conference will be Friday, March 23 – Saturday, March 24. They will be offering pre-conference workshops on Friday, a full day of sessions and a luncheon on Saturday, and the opportunity to take the ATA translator certification exam on Sunday. Please click here for more information.

NAJIT will be having their 39th Annual Conference on Friday, June 8th – Sunday, June 10th, 2018 at Parc 55 Hotel, 55 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA 94102. For more information, click here. NAJIT also has a scholars program for students interested in attending the conference. For more information on the scholars program, click here.

IITA’s 14th Annual Conference will be Friday, June 15th – Saturday, June 16th, 2018 at DMACC Urban Campus, 1100 7th Street, Des Moines, IA 50314, Building 1. If you are interested in submitting a presentation proposal, please click here and return it by April 1st.

ATA’s 59th Annual Conference will be held in New Orleans, Louisiana October 24-27, 2018. They are currently accepting presentation proposals (deadline for proposals: March 2nd). To submit an ATA Conference Proposal, click here.


  IITA-Sponsored Training:



   IITA Webinars



Other Training and Education:

University of Arizona College of Humanities National Center for Interpretation has recently published their Spring Schedule of court interpreting webinars! They anticipate scheduling test prep webinars for the state and federal exams as well. CEUs are available from the ATA:

Pitfalls of Spanish Regionalisms (Spanish/English)
March 10, 10am-1pm PST

Legal Translation (Spanish/English)
March 24, 10am-1pm PST

Consecutive Interpreting: Techniques & Skills (Language Neutral)
April 7, 10am-1pm PST

Sight Translation and Simultaneous Interpreting: Techniques & Skills (Language Neutral)
April 21, 10am-1pm PST

Gloria Rivera is holding a 2-hour *live* webinar (for NON-Spanish speakers) Ouch! The Basics of Pain on Friday, March 9th at 5pm PST / 7 pm CST / 8pm EST., and a 2-hour *live* webinar (for Spanish speakers) ¡Ay! The Basics of Pain on Saturday, March 10th at 9am PST / 12 pm EST / 5pm GMT.  These webinars have been awarded 2 ATA CEUs that are accepted as 2 CHI CEUs. 2 DSHS CEUs and 0.2 CMI CEUs are pending approval.


NCI holds workshops to help candidates prepare for federal court Spanish interpreter certification. Participants take a sample exam under testing conditions each day of the workshop. This is followed by detailed critique and analysis with a highly experienced, federally certified instructor.

Northwestern College Translation and Interpretation Program, ongoing

DMACC Interpretation and Translation Program, ongoing




Iowa Court Interpreter Test Schedule 2017

Written exam: Friday, November 17, 2017
Location: DMACC Urban Campus, Building 1
Des Moines, Iowa

Oral exam: Friday, October 6, 2017
Location: Iowa Supreme Court Judicial Branch Building
1111 East Court Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50319

Click here for details.