Information about Certification Certification is awarded upon passing a rigorous interpretation or translation testing program sponsored and/or administered by a government body (such as Federal or State Court or Medical Interpreter Certification) or a recognized national-level professional association (such as ATA,  NAJIT or RID).  Interpreters and translators usually require ample experience and training in order to pass these exams. In addition, they often require the completion of Continuing Education credits in order to retain certification. For more information on the types of Certification recognized by IITA, please click on any of the following links:

American Translators Association (ATA) Certification

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) Certification

Federal Court Interpreter Certification

National Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators (NAJIT) Certification

National Center for State Courts Consortium

Certification for Court Interpreters

Certification Commission for Healthcare Interpreters (CCHI)

National Board of Certification for Medical Interpreters (NBCMI)